Northern Arizona

March 18

Been bumming around in North AZ since last Friday.  I was in Show Low, AZ over the weekend.  Not one of my best choices.  Maybe I should avoid towns named after poker hands.  Actually it was the weather.  I went from Tucson where it was sunny and warm to higher elevation.  It was cool and very windy in Show Low. We even had rain.  I know I will get no sympathy from my midwest followers.

I am now in Cottonwood, AZ.  Back to sunshine and 70 degrees.  Cottonwood may be perfect.  A beautiful state campground, Dead Horse Ranch, a half mile from a nice tourist area with about a dozen restaurants and coffee shops (cooking problem solved).  I also learned that I know nothing about mountain biking.  In 5 minutes on a real trail I had been scratched, bruised stalled out on several little hills and my new bike has a flat tire.  Maybe time for a lesson.

Yesterday was St. Patrick’s day.  I packed no green so I had to go buy a new shirt.

Image

One thought on “Northern Arizona

Leave a Reply

